Pune Netra Seva National Award for Aravind Eye Care System

Pune, December 29

Pune Netra Seva Prathisthan conferred the award on Aravind and Dr. P. Namperumalsamy, Chairman Emeritus received the same. Close to 20 Aravind alumni in and around Pune attended the award ceremony. Dr. Namperumalsamy interacted with the alumni and it turned out to be a memorable occasion.

Awards at Annual Conference of Cornea Society of India

Kumarakom, Kerala, December 13-15

Dr. Josephine Chrsity, Cornea and Refractive Services, Aravind-Pondicherry bagged first prize in the photo contest.

Dr. Naveen, Cornea and Refractive Services, Aravind-Madurai won first prize in Just a Minute session.

Awards at the Annual Meeting of the Indian Pediatric Glaucoma Society

Hyderabad, December 7-8

Dr Hiruni K Wijesinghe, Glaucoma Fellow, Aravind-Madurai became winner of original paper- physical poster, A comparative study of glaucoma drainage device surgery in children and adults.

Dr Srilekha Pallamparthy, Glaucoma Fellow, Aravind-Madurai became winner in the session on Clinic challenges in pediatric glaucoma for A case of unilateral congenital glaucoma associated with microcephaly and ipsilateral hemiplegia.

AUPO Resident & Fellow Research Forum Award

Dr. Siddharth Narendran, Medical Officer, Aravind Eye Hospital, Madurai, currently doing Fellowship at University of Virginia, Charlottesvilla, USA received the Association of University Professor of Ophthalmology (AUPO) Resident and Fellow Research Forum Award.  This is the first time an ophthalmologist trained in India has received this award.

Best Poster Award for Dr. Mahima Bankar

Chennai, December 7-8

Dr. Mahima Bankar, Fellow, Paediatric Ophthalmology Services, Aravind-Pondicherry received the award for the poster titled Normative data of paediatric OCT in South population at the annual conference of Strabismus and Paediatric Ophthalmology Society of India.