TNOA Recognition for Peer-reviewed Scientific Publications

The following doctors received medal and certificate from TNOA for their contributions to peer-reviewed journals during 2020-2021.

Aravind – Tirunelveli

  • Neelam Pawar, D, Consultant – Paediatric Ophthalmology Services
  • Devendra Maheswari, Consultant – Glaucoma Services

Aravind – Madurai

  • Karthik Kumar, Consultant – Retina Vitreous Services
  • Vignesh T.P, Consultant – Retina Vitreous Services
  • Renu P Rajan, Consultant – Retina Vitreous Services
  • Chitaranjan Mishra, Consultant – Retina Vitreous Services

Winners –Ophthalmic Photography Competition

Indian Intraocular Implant and Refractive Surgery Convention

Chennai, December 4-5

Slit lamp Photography

  • Winner: Dr. Vinitha Rashme, Medical Consultant, Cataract and IOL Services, Aravind-Madurai
  • Kamatachi Kannan, Supervisor, Clinical Research bagged the first and second runner up awards.

Smartphone Photography:

  • First Runner Up: Dr. Hirika Gosalia, DNB Resident, Aravind-Coimbatore

External Photography:

  • Second Runner Up: Mr. Rajkumar, Photographer, Aravind-Madurai

Elected Members of Vitreo Retinal Society of India

Dr.R.Kim, Chief Medical Officer, Aravind – Madurai and Dr.K.Naresh Babu, Chief Retina Services, Aravind – Madurai were elected as Vice-president and Executive Member respectively of VRSI.

Best Video Award - 14th Congress of the Asia Pacific Vitreo Retina Society (APVRS)

December 11-12, 2021

Dr. K. Naresh Babu, Chief – Retina and Vitreous Services, Aravind-Madurai

  • Best Video Award
    Topic: Two staged surgery with short Term PFCL Tamponade for Management of RD Secondary to RPE tear

Best Poster Award at Glaucoma Society of India Conference

Guwahati, December 17-19

Dr. Swati Upadhyaya, Glaucoma Consultant, Aravind – Pondicherry

  • Best Poster Award
    Topic: Comparison of diurnal intraocular pressure measurement by iCare home tonometer with Goldmann applanation tonometer in a tertiary eye hospital in South India.

Award at Keracon – Annual Conference of Cornea Society of India

December 10-12

Dr. Kulharsh B Jaiswal, Cornea Consultant, Aravind-Pondicherry

  • First Prize in Corneal Innovations Session
    Innovation: iOpener – A novel device for ocular examination

National Biomedical Research competition – Oral Presentation

Dr. Aiman Ahmed Khan, IOL Fellow, Aravind-Coimbatore became the 4th runner up in the oral presentation organised as part of  National Biomedical Research competition conducted by the Society of Young Biomedical Scientists.

Ph.D Awarded

Mr.J.Venkateswaran, Assistant Division Manager – Pharmaceutical Division, Aurolab was awarded doctoral degree by the Tamil Nadu Dr.MGR Medical University for his research on ‘Design fabrication and validation of fixed combination for anti-glaucoma ophthalmic drugs’ . He received the doctoral degree from the  Honorable Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu, Mr.M.K.Stalin.