American Society of Cataract and Refractive Surgery Film Festival Awards -2021

Dr. K. Veena, Chief, Paediatric Services, Aravind-Pondicherry
Winner: New Producer category
Video: Incremental innovations in wet-lab and surgical training during COVID-19 Pandemic
Special credits – Dr. Shivaraj Tagare, Aravind-Pondicherry and Dr. Megha Nair, Aravind-Pondicherry

Dr. S. Ashok Vardhan, Chief Medical Officer, Aravind-Tirupati
Winner: In-house production category
Video, Conquering the sink hole
Special credits – Dr. V. R. Vivekanandan, Aravind-Pondicherry, Dr. Naveen Nischal, Aravind-Tirupati and Dr. Vinitha Susan John, Aravind – Tirupati

Dr. R. Venkatesh, Chief Medical Officer, Aravind –Pondicherry
Runner-up: Special Interest
Video: Lessons Learnt during the pandemic – Can we uberise eye care?
Special credits – Dr. M. G. Pavankumar, Aravind-Pondicherry

Dr. V. R. Vivekanandan, Chief, Cataract Services, Aravind-Pondicherry
Runner-Up: New Techniques
Video: MI way for managing hypermature, morgagian cataracts and phacolytic glaucomas
Special credits – Dr. Merlin Benzy, Aravind-Pondicherry and Dr. Naveen Nischal, Aravind-Pondicherry

Alumni Oration Award 2021

August 21

Dr. P. Namperumalsamy, Chairman Emeritus, Aravind Eye Care System was conferred with the Alumni Oration Award 2021 by Sankara Nethralaya Alumni Association. Dr. Nam, in his oration, mentioned about his association with Sankara Netralaya, training under Dr. Charles Schepens and eye care in India.
Click here to see Dr. Nam’s oration

Certificate of Appreciation

Aravind-Tirunelveli, August 15

Aravind-Tirunelveli received a Certificate of Appreciation for its adherence to the quality certification standards of Chief Minister’s Comprehensive Health Insurance Scheme (CMCHIS) – Ayushman Bharat-Pradhan Mantri Jan Arogya Yojana (AB-PMJAY). Dr. R. Meenakshi, Chief Medical Officer received the certificate from the District Collector, Thiru V. Vishnu IAS.

Distinguished Contributor Award - Journal of Vitreo Retinal Diseases


Dr. Kim Ramasamy, Chief Medical Officer, Aravind-Madurai;  Dr. K. Naresh Babu, Chief, Retina and Vitreous Services, Aravind-Madurai and Dr. Sagnik Sen, Retina Fellow, were awarded the Distinguished Contributor Award for their outstanding contributions to the Journal of VitreoRetinal Diseases by the American Society of Retina Specialists.

Recognitions for Dr. Kim

August 27

Dr.  Kim Ramasamy was elected as one of new council of members and nominated as Vice-President of the Asia Pacific Teleophthalmology Society (APTOS) at the 5th Annual General Meeting.

Hospital Innovations Showcase Winners

August  14

Dr.Prithvi Chandrakanth, Retina Fellow and Dr. Hirika Vipul Gosalia, DNB Resident from Aravind-Coimbatore,  won the competition organised by Consortium of Accredited Healthcare Organisations.

Award winning innovations:
Iolscope: smartphone based intraocular lens microscope.