Reaching towards the goal of creating a community free from needless blindness and providing vision for all, the leaders of Aravind Eye Care System have pursued their mission with noble vision, and compassion, leading to its sustained growth and impact. Recognition of their leadership implies recognition of the system they have built and nurtured over the years. Hence, the Padma Shri awards, consistently conferred upon members of the Aravind family, starting from Dr. G. Venkataswamy in 1973, followed by Dr. P. Namperumalsamy in 2007, and now upon Dr. G. Natchiar in 2024, stand as a token of acknowledgement from the Government of India, honouring their individual and collective contributions to serving the community. The recent announcement of the award to Dr. Natchiar marks a remarkable hat-trick for the Aravind Eye Care System, a moment of pride and celebration.

Dr. Natchiar, a visionary ophthalmologist and transformative leader, has made invaluable contributions by nurturing the paramedical programme and continuously monitoring and refining Aravind’s innovative model for delivering eye care services to rural communities through vision centres and outreach initiatives. Moreover, she has wholeheartedly dedicated herself to instilling and upholding the values and culture that will sustain the organisation for years to come. All such contributions to society have earned her honour.

The inauguration of a new vision centre in Komaralingam, Tiruppur District, bringing the total count to 111, signifies progressive steps towards extending much-needed eye care services to those in need. Additionally, Aravind’s non-clinical routine activities, such as symposiums, workshops, continuing professional education (CPE), and continuing medical education (CME) sessions, were held fostering fellowship among staff members, promoting knowledge exchange, and enhancing professional skills, all with the goal of serving the community.

This edition features news about these and much more.

Note: The events that happened between 15th January and 15th February are featured here.