Awards at Annual Conference of All India Ophthalmological Society

Kochi, May 11-14


Dr. Manju R. Pillai
Medical Consultant, Glaucoma Services

  • Winner: Best Film in Quality Teaching
    Video title: Clinical evaluation protocols for childhood glaucoma
  • Runner up: Best Film in Special Interest category
    Video title: This too shall pass

Dr. Madhu Shekhar
Chief, Cataract and IOL Services

Winner: Film Festival Award of AIOC (FIFA)
Video title: Identifying subtle signs of zonular compromise: The art of deduction

Dr. Talla Sruthi
Glaucoma Fellow

Winner: Best Physical Poster
Poster title: B/L secondary angle closure glaucoma as an initial manifestation of systemic lupus erythematosus

Dr. Athul S. Puthalath
Retina Fellow

  • Runner up: Film Festival Award of AIOC (FIFA)
    Video title: Blue light patch for smartphone assisted Cobalt blue photography
  • Consolation Prize: ARC Surgical Innovators Corner
    Intraocular diathermy instrument: A challenge overcame in vitreoretinal surgery

Dr. Senthil Prasad
Cataract Fellow

7th Place – MicroVision Quiz

Dr. Toshit Varshney
Retina Fellow

Certificate of Excellence in Research
Young Researcher’s Award Session in PG thesis competition


Dr. Shivkumar Chandrasekharan
Chief, Cataract and IOL Services

IJO Gold Award
Outcomes and favourable prognostic factors in patients of phacomorphic and phacolytic glaucoma managed by manual small incision cataract surgery- A retrospective study

Dr. Mohideen Abdul Kader
Chief, Glaucoma Services

IJO Certificate of Merit
Lowering of intraocular pressure after phacoemulsification in primary open angle and angle closure glaucoma: Correlation with lens thickness.

Dr. V. Anitha
Chief, Cornea Services

IJO Certificate of Merit
Pythium insidiosum keratitis

Dr. Neelam Pawar
Senior Medical Consultant, Paediatric Ophthalmology Services

Best Poster Podium Presentation
Non-compliance for wearing spectacles in school-going children in South India

Dr. Praveena Shyam
Fellow, Paediatric Ophthalmology Services

Second Prize in Entod Quiz


Dr. Siddharth Narendran
Medical Consultant, General Ophthalmology

Col. Rangachari Award for Best of Best Paper
Paper title: Nucleic acid extraction – Free CRISPR/CAS 12 A based diagnostic platform for fungal keratitis

Dr. Karthik Kumar
Medical Consultant, Neuro ophthalmology

Best Physical Poster Award in Neuro ophthalmology
Poster title: Lamina cribrosa thickness in non arteritic – anterior ischemic optic neuropathy

Dr. Avani B. Chandran
DNB Resident

Appreciation Award – Photography

Dr. Hirika Gosalia
DNB Resident

  • Best Free Paper: Community Ophthalmology
    Paper title: Smartscope kit: A portable eye hospital for screening in outreach camp
  • Consolation Prize: Think under the Apple Tree Innovation Award
    Log: A perfect surgical digi logbook for residents!
  • International Hero Award

Dr. Chinmay Vikas Mahatme
DNB Resident

Runner up: Free paper, Neuro ophthalmology
Paper title: Macular microvascular and structural changes in neuromyelitis optica spectrum disorders and myelin oligod endrocyte glycoprotein antibody disease

Dr. Sunanda Subramanian
Medical Consultant, Glaucoma Services

Fellowship of the All India Collegium of Ophthalmology in Glaucoma

Dr. Prithvi Chandrakanth
Medical Consultant, Retina and Vitreous Services

  • Best Free Paper: Trauma category
    Paper title: Documentation of ocular trauma using Smartscope kit
  • Best physical poster: Optics category
    Poster title: Gimbalscope: Every beginners retinoscopy teacher
  • Third place: Think under the Apple Tree Innovation Award
    Video title: SLITSCOPE 
  • Fourth place: Think under the Apple Tree Innovation Award
    Video title: GIMBALSCOPE 
  • International Hero Award


Dr. Swati Upadhyaya
Senior Consultant, Glaucoma Services

Winner Best Poster Podium Presentation
Poster title: Bent needle AB interno goniotomy- Preliminary results

Dr. Manavi D. Sindal
Chief, Retina and Vitreous Services

Winner Best Poster Podium Presentation
Poster title: Unusual associations with aggressive retinopathy of prematurity

Dr. C.R. Viswaraj
Senior Consultant and
Dr. S. Kavitha,
Chief, Glaucoma Services

Best of IJO Award
Paper title: Neuroprotection in glaucoma 

Dr. V.R. Vivekanandan
Chief, Cataract and General Ophthalmology Services

  • Winner: ARC Video session
    Video title: Flanges – “MJOLNIR” of ophthalmology
  • Two Consolation Prizes:
    ARC-Think Under the Apple Tree

    Flanges-the brahmastra for anterior segment surgeons
    ARC-Surgical Innovators Corner
    Managing ID repair, CTS and SFIOL the simple flanged way

Dr. Joshi Saloni Mahesh
DNB Resident

Winner: AIOC-YOSI Competitive case presentations
Paradox in the eyes – A case of bilateral secondary acute angle closure


Dr. Anand Rajendran
Chief, Retina and Vitreous Services

IJO Honour Award

Dr. Prasanna Venkataraman
Medical Consultant, Glaucoma Services

IJO Certificate of Merit
Paper title: A Systematic approach to the management of microspherophakia

Dr. Puja Maitra
Medical Consultant, Retina and Vitreous Services

International Ophthalmic Hero Award

Film Festival Award Winners – American Society of Cataract and Refractive Surgery Conference 2023

San Diego, California, USA, May 05 – 08

Dr. K. Veena
Senior Consultant, Paediatric Ophthalmology Services Aravind-Pondicherry
Grand Prize: Outstanding Film
Video title: Wasteless: A model for green cataract surgery

Dr. V.R. Vivekanandan
Senior Consultant, Cataract & General Ophthalmology Services,  Aravind-Pondicherry
Winner: Special Interest
Video title: Flanges – Mjolnir for Ophthalmologists

Dr. R. Venkatesh
Chief Medical Officer, Aravind-Pondicherry
Runner-up: Glaucoma Surgery
Video title: Gateway to safe suture gonioscopy assisted transluminal trabeculotomy

World Society of Ophthalmic Plastic, Reconstructive Aesthetic Surgery - Oscar Award

Dubai, UAE, May 5 – 7

Dr. Viji Rangarajan, Chief, Orbit and Oculoplasty Services, Aravind-Coimbatore received Oscar Award in Best Video category at the inaugural meeting of the World Society of Ophthalmic Plastic, Reconstructive Aesthetic Surgery.
Video title: Eyes are the windows of the soul bridging extensive upper eyelid congenital colobomas

Awards at the National Video Competition – Maharashtra Ophthalmological Society

April 15

Dr. Nishant Maindargi
DNB Resident, Aravind-Pondicherry secured first prize in the non-surgical category.
Video title: Eye-banking

Dr. Shivaraj Tagare
Retina Fellow, Aravind-Pondicherry received first prize in the innovation category.
Video title: Innovations in operation theatre

Akshaya Seva Ratna Award

Madurai, April 14

Dr. Usha Kim, Chief, Orbit and Oculoplasty Services, Aravind-Madurai received the Akshaya Seva Ratna Award from Akshaya Pathra Trust at a programme held in Madurai. The award was given in recognition of her service to the society.