FICCI Healthcare Humanitarian Award

New Delhi, October 11, 2022

Dr.P. Namperumalsamy was presented with the FICCI Healthcare Humanitarian Award at the ceremony held in New Delhi. Smt. Smriti Irani, Hon’ble Union Minister of Women, Child Development of India and Minority Affairs presented the award to him.

AAO Secretariat Award

July 22

American Academy of Ophthalmology  honoured Thulasiraj Ravilla, Director-Operations, Aravind Eye Care System with the Secretariat Award 2022 in appreciation of his contribution to the Academy and ophthalmology.

Top-cited Researchers in Ophthalmology

October 10

Stanford University, one of the world’s best universities, issued a list of the top-cited researchers in ophthalmology (based on citations in 2021 for lifetime work). Four senior doctors from Aravind – Drs. M. Srinivasan, Venkatesh Prajna, Rathinam Sivakumar, and Lalitha Prajna were named to the list for their significant contributions to the field of Ophthalmology clinical research, which has a significant impact on the quality of eye care in the community.

Best Video Award

Milan, Italy, September 16-20

Dr. Hirika Gosalia, DNB Resident, Aravind-Coimbatore won Best Video Award for the video on Anterior segment photography with intraocular lens – An innovative learning tool at the European Society of Cataract and Refractive Surgery Conference.

Award for Innovation

Mumbai, September 24

Dr. Prithvi Chandrakanth, Medical Officer, Retina Services, Aravind-Coimbatore won second prize in the Innovation session for Smart phone-assisted frugal retinopathy of prematurity screening at CAHOTECH 2022.

Winners – Photography Contest

Kochi, September 18

Dr. Maya T.J, Dr. Rinu George, Dr. Meera Mohanakumar became winners of the photography contest organised by Giridhar Eye Institute as part of its silver jubilee symposium.