Awards at Tamil Nadu Ophthalmic Association Conference

DR. R. Ramakrishnan Elected as President of Tamil Nadu Ophthalmic Association

Coimbatore, August 5-7

Dr. R. Ramakrishnan, Advisor, Aravind-Tirunelveli was elected as the President of Tamil Nadu Ophthalmic Association (TNOA) for the period 2022- 2023. He gave his presidential address at the Annual Conference of TNOA held at Coimbatore during August 5 to 7.

Dr. P. Vijayalakshmi, Senior Paediatric Ophthalmologist and Chief, Low Vision Services, Aravind-Madurai was awarded with the Lifetime Achievement Award 2022.

Dr. Devendra Maheshwari, Glaucoma Consultant, Aravind-Tirunelveli – Dr.Velayutham Best Paper Award in Glaucoma Session, Early outcomes of a modified AB interno sulcus placement of Aurolob aqueous drainage implant tube

Dr. A. Fathima, Medical Consultant, Aravind-Tirunelveli – Best Innovation Award, Fundus assessment technique – To assess fundus during anterior segment surgeries.

Dr. Tejaswi Prasad, Medical Consultant, Cornea Services, Aravind-Madurai –  Best Poster Award in Cornea, Clinical and pathological characteristics of OSSN in south Indian population.

Dr. D. Chandrasekhar, Consultant, Aravind-Coimbatore – Dr. Agarwal Award for Excellence in Teaching Award

Dr. Siddharth Narendran, General Ophthalmology Services, Aravind-Coimbatore – CP Gupta Award for Best Paper in all categories

Dr. Hirika Gosalia, Retina Fellow, Aravind-Coimbatore – Captain Subramaniam Best Video Award and Second Prize in General Quiz and ET Selvam Quiz

Dr. Jebinth Brayan M, General Ophthalmology Services – Dr. MN Best Paper Award in Cataract

Dr. Shafeena, Fellow, Aravind-Coimbatore – First Prize in General Quiz and Second Prize in ET Selvam Quiz

Dr. Pranesh – Second Prize in Time saver session

Dr. Rihana.A, MS Resident, Aravind-Madurai – Best Paper Award in Uvea, Vitreous amyloidosis in familial amyloid polyneuropathy

Best Doctor Award for Dr. R. Venkatesh

Pondicherry, August 28

Dr. R. Venkatesh, Chief Medical Officer, Aarvind-Pondicherry was awarded the Best Doctor Award by the News18 TV network as part of its Sigaram2022 award ceremony. Dr. Venkatesh received the award from the Honorable Lieutenant Governor of Puducherry, Mrs. Tamilisai Sounderrarjan.